Getting non-Lightwave created models into the game

More
19 years 10 months ago #18052 by Second Chance
This tutorial will explain how to get models from whatever 3D package you happen to use into Lightwave, and then get them into the game. This is not a modeling or Lightwave tutorial, nor is it "everything you could possibly need to know.� You must still be familiar with the EoC Graphic SDK.

Now, I'm sorry if this disappoints anyone but, Lightwave is required to get models into the game (see addendum 2). Although, it is not required to make the initial models.

Many of you might say; "Well if you've already got Lightwave, why wouldn't you just make the models in it?" Well, that's up to you. For me, I've been working with 3dsMax for many years (since version 1.0), and have even been through training classes for it. I'm just more comfortable modeling in Max. Or maybe you don't have Lightwave, but you have a friend that does. And he's willing to convert your model and make the texture templates for you. It could be any reason. So, here's your chance to make that EoC Super Cruiser you've always wanted.

<font size="3">Requirements:</font id="size3">

A 3d package that can export .3ds files.

Lightwave 3D, or a friend who has it and is willing to work on the models with you. I believe any version will work (except 6.0) by exporting the files as "Lightwave 5" files. Version 6.0 didn't have this feature, but 6.5 did.

A paint program for texturing.

STEP 1: Building the model